Home / PC Gaming / Hardware / Store / Discord

Star Trails and Nigh Photography

Hi,

I am going to Scotland once again more specifically to the Isle of Skye regionj right up north in the highlands. Staying right opposite within stone throw from this castle here

I will b going in late August and thought it would be a good place to try for the first time (given the remote location lacking light pollution) to try some star or milky way photography. I have never done this before, I suspect the ilky wayu is unlikely as geographical postion/time of year has a big factor in this is suspect?

I would really appreciate tips, gear, set up steps etc… also post processing advice!

My gear is as follows…

Sony A7R MK3
Zeiss Batis 18mm F2.8
Zeiss Batis 25mm F2.0
Sony G Master 24-70 2.8
Sony G Master 85mm 1.4
Sony G 70-200 F4

I’ve only done it a couple times, but one thing is you’ll want to use the largest aperture possible to let in as much light as possible.

A general rule is focus to infinity, but try manual focus as well. Make good use of that EVF, and try focus peaking if your camera will pick it up.

Don’t be afraid to use high ISO’s. You will have to use high ISO to keep the exposure time down, otherwise you will get star trails due to the rotation of the earth. There’s nothing wrong with star trails if you want a lot of emphasis on them, but they will ruin anything else that’s in the sky (like the Milky Way). I was doing 30-second exposures at f2 and ISO 3200 on my X100T and got decent results with no trails. You should be able to produce cleaner results at those settings with the A7R III because it’s full frame.

I’ll post a photo of mine once I have some time.

Also don’t be afraid to tweak a lot in post. If you get the Milky Way, it won’t be anywhere near as cool straight out of camera as what you see online.

Thank you for your advice, would appreciate a sample photo when you get time :slight_smile:

This is from the time I was using my X100T.