Home / PC Gaming / Hardware / Store / Discord

PC Build Reccomendations

I was looking into building a PC that is good for gaming, and if possible some 3D modeling / video editing for work.

The price range is $500, and the maximum is $650.

I need lots of USB ports, and I prefer it to be somewhat future-proof and easily up gradable.

I am new to building PC’s from scratch, so any help is highly appreciated.

I already have a really nice monitor, keyboard, and mouse.

Thank you!

I would wait like a few weeks - Ryzen is almost here! If you need something ASAP - let us know and we’ll part something for ya

I would be needing this ASAP. Thanks!

Something like this can probably do you good.

Total: $588.32

You can play around with stuff trying to find deals at different retailers but I think this should cover the basics for sure.

CPU: Intel Core i3-7100
Motherboard: ASUS H110M-E/M.2 LGA1151
Ram: Corsair LPX 8GB DRAM 2666MHz 8GB(4GBx2)
GPU: Gigabyte GTX 1060 Mini ITX OC 3GB
Hard Drive: Seagate 1TB FireCuda Gaming SSHD
Power Supply: EVGA 600 B1
Case: Zalman ATX Mid Tower PC Case Z3

The build I was doing was more or less the same. I think you’ll probably run into a bottleneck down the road with the i3 - but the nice thing about running on LGA1151 is you’ll be able to upgrade. It should hold you over, though!

I had this set up, any feedback?

Ram

HDD

PSU

(continued in next post

With insurance it comes to about $570

Case

CPU

Motherboard

Graphics Card

If you can, throw in a boot drive SSD and keep games and data on the 1TB drive.

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/6bMvvV (623 USD AFTER REBATES)

If you can handle using a case only 1 USB 3.0 on the FPIO, this will get you an i5-6500 and a Z170 motherboard with I believe 6 USB 3.0 ports USB type C 3.1 and 2x USB A 3.1 on the motherboard’s I/O

You really don’t need to overclock, and the i5-6500K costs more just to have the option to overclock.